Baby beds: co-sleepers

So my nursery plans are definitely focused on budget, they aren’t babies forever so I’d rather spend my funds on living costs so that I can have as much time on maternity leave as possible.

However I’m not going 100% budget on everything. As a worrier and natural light sleeper I can see me waking every hour to check on baby (assuming baby hasn’t already woken me). But I also wouldn’t want to co-sleep for fear of hurting the baby. I initially thought a separate moses basket was a complete waste of money (why not put them in their cot?) until I saw the Snuzpod. The Snuzpod isn’t technically a moses basket but a side-sleeper / co-sleeping cot. It attaches to your bed (with straps so will work with most beds), it can be a standalone cot up to 6 months, it can rock and the bed unit can be carried around the house. But best of all there is a mesh panel in the side so you can watch baby sleep or zip the side down so you don’t have to sit up and lean over to get baby out.

3563a9e749565967f72b1e6ed17df096

Pros

  • Easy access to baby during the night
  • Ability to see baby from your own bed
  • Simple design (much better than competitors)
  • Proximity to mum is likely to reduce the risk of SIDS
  • Can be used for longer than a standard moses basket (up to 6 months)

Cons

  • One of the more expensive co-sleepers on the market
  • You don’t need it, baby could always go straight into the main cot from birth
  • Users have criticized the mattress is hard / thin
  • If it is attached to the bed and you are using a movement monitor it will pick up the parents movements as well (so won’t be effective)…this is the same with any co-sleepers

Cost

  • £199.95 brand new at nearly every retailer plus £29.95 for mattress
  • Used Snuzpods are around £75.00-£125.00 on ebay, often with a mattress and some bedding (beware that you are advised to buy a new mattress for each baby)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/vl/The-Little-Green-Sheep-FN001T-SnuzPod-Mattress/B00I2T7XLK/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby&ie=UTF8&qid=1491768127&sr=1-1&keywords=snuzpod

Alternatives

Chico next to me crib

This is fairly similar in the way it works, it is slightly cheaper but to me the additional £30 is well spent on the design of the Snuzpod. This looks more cushioned which may appeal to some, however I have read that on a standard cot you should avoid cushioning around the bars as the baby could overheat…so this may apply to the Chico next to me crib as well??

Cost, typically £169.00

shopping

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Chicco-Next2me-Side-Sleeping-Crib/dp/B00HHPLYHE/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby&ie=UTF8&qid=1491768162&sr=1-1&keywords=chicco+next+to+me

WALDIN Baby Bedside Cot

This is cheaper at £69.99 + £23.98 delivery on Amazon, but for me it’s a no as it isn’t quick and easy to put the side up and down. For most mums this is probably not a problem but I would worry about cats creeping in with baby without me realising. 

51DeV-WPbjL._SX300_

https://www.amazon.co.uk/WALDIN-Bedside-Co-Sleeping-adjustable-untreated/dp/B00BY2WVKU

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑